Letter to Hate City

“Not that there is a scene; there are a couple of little cliques. The film goes into that; it’s a music town, but it’s a segregated music town, with cliques of bands doing their thing and I wasn’t trying to cater to anybody. I was just trying to tell it like it is.”

-          Bob Placedirector of “Hate City”

Shot From Guns is not a professional music magazine or site; it’s a small music and entertainment blog. Nonetheless, I try to maintain some kind of formal etiquette, avoid bias and favoritism when writing and report on what I feel is newsworthy content regardless of my personal network and connections. But right now, fuck that.

I came here from Athens two and a half years ago and like many other transplants, I don’t feel directly plugged into the scene. I view it largely as an outsider and that gives me a different perspective that I feel allows me a certain edge and advantage. In the two and a half years that I’ve been here (and yes, I performed in the Atlanta “scene” while in Athens), I realized something. Atlanta is one big city full of tiny cliques and social groups. There are very few people making an honest effort to band together and create something unique as a whole.

Now I will say to the individuals out there working hard to reach out to external networks, collaborating with others on new projects and in general the people working their butts off to create something new for the entire city, I applaud your effort. I know who are and you know who you are. I’m glad you’re going out there on a limb and have a strong desire to produce something unique and novel for your city.

As for the cliques and small crews that resemble high school cheerleaders and gossip groups, go fuck yourselves. You think you’re the first band to play in front of a hundred scenesters at some “trendy” venue. You think you’re the first artist to release something on a local record label. You feel you’re superior because you were featured in the local rag of a magazine. No, you’re not. Somewhere else in a different state or country, several music artists are doing that. And people were doing it before them; it’s a process that’s been going on for years actually.

There are other people out there working their tails off to get somewhere, not only with their music, but they have a long-term vision that stands for something greater than music and entertainment. These people will continue to do what they do and I hope they are rewarded for their actions. Why? Because at the end of the day, these little cliques won’t amount to shit and you will become casualties of your own snobbish and elitist behavior.

In the movie The Town, a federal agent tells Ben Affleck’s character, “…when your code of silence finally gives way to fear of trafficking in cigarettes to prevent sexual enslavement, I just want you to know that it’s gonna be me who told you to go fuck yourself.”

I understand that few of you adhere to a code of silence, but I want you to know something. When your little clique remains stagnant and eventually perishes because you focused your efforts on excluding people from your tiny social circle – I just want you to know that it’s going to be me who told you to go fuck yourself.

3 responses to “Letter to Hate City

  1. Ummm, I pretty much sure I know who you’re talking about.

  2. Anytime you want some detailed info and recorded interview excerpts about this here group of people to further back up what you’re saying and to give more information and examples to post, just let me know. I’m giving the info away because I can’t do anything with it, and I’m done with Atlanta. Period.

  3. @ Kristin, haha done with Atlanta, what do you mean? I guess I’ll have to read that detailed info to find out (wink wink)

Leave a Reply

